Jean Pascal wants to fight on May 25 despite Lucian Bute withdrawal

7 May
As featured on NewsNow: Boxing news

Tommy Barber – London

The highly-anticipated duel between Canadian prizefighters Lucian Bute and Jean Pascal, dubbed the greatest fight in Canada’s storied history, has been postponed. Following on from the official announcement by InterBox earlier, co-promoter Yvon Michel accepted the decision, claiming it is an unfortunate part of the sport of boxing.

Pascal v Bute

“Obviously, when we first heard the news a few hours ago, we were all in shock,” said Michel. “This is part of boxing and we are aware that we have to live and deal with these contingencies. Our perception is that this only a postponement. We ask Quebec to show understanding and patience. We wish a speedy recovery to Lucian.”

Jean Pascal added: “I was so excited when I met with the media last week. I thought that I was in the best shape of my life and very optimistic about my fight with Bute. We now need to start over but I am a professional. I know that these things happen and I think that sooner or later, we will both be in the ring to settle our differences.  And I would like to add that I would still fight on May 25; I am ready to face anyone.”

GYM and InterBox are currently in a research and analysis solution mode. Full details will be announced as soon as there are new developments.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

