Alfredo Angulo speaks out on his seven month spell in a detention centre

6 Nov

Alan Dawson – London

Mexican light middleweight dog Alfredo Angulo had his thrilling career in the light middleweight division interrupted earlier this year when, after turning himself in to an immigration detention centre in California, Angulo was held for seven months on account of living in the United States with an expired Visa. He was released in August and, ahead of his return to the ring on November 10, discussed his experiences at El Centro…

Direct link to article.

Angulo celebrating a knockdown over Joel Julio in 2010. Credit: TheDailySportsHerald

On the protracted nature of his release…

I had no idea when I was going to get out. I was told it was going to be a short time and obviously that didn’t happen. So I just kept focusing on staying strong, just to get out of there.

I kept thinking about my daughter, which is very important to me. And also I kept thinking about helping other detainees, that were in the same situation as I was, get out and making a difference in helping them out. And obviously the last thing was being able to get back in the ring and fighting in the United States again.

On staying in shape whilst detained…

The reality is they didn’t let me train in there. A simple thing like having tennis shoes… it took me two months. They didn’t allow me to use or have tennis shoes for two months. The rules stipulate that it’s a three-day process, but for some reason it took me two months to get tennis shoes. The only thing I ever did to stay physically fit and in shape was play handball and I did that every day for two hours a day. It was team play, two on two or four.

On his current status…

I’m here [in the US] legally. Everything is fine. The process is behind me. All I have to do now is just think about the future and move forward.

*

Angulo (20-2-0, 17ko) looks to bounce back from a 2011 defeat to James Kirkland on Saturday, when he takes on Raul Casarez at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on the undercard of the super bantamweight showdown between Abner Mares and Anselmo Moreno.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Alfredo Angulo speaks out on his seven month spell in a detention centre”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011-2012 News Archive « On The Beak - January 17, 2013

    […] Alfredo Angulo speaks out on his seven month spell in a detention centre […]

Leave a Reply

