Austin Trout challenges Saul Alvarez

27 Jun

On The Beak – Admin

With the hunt for an opponent for WBC junior middleweight belt holder Saul ‘Canelo’ Alvarez (40-0-1, 29ko) on Saturday, September 15 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada still apparently ongoing, WBA titlist at 154lbs Austin ‘No Doubt’ Trout (25-0-0, 14ko) has issued a reminder to his Mexican rival. Eager for a world title unification, Trout has challenged Canelo…

Direct link to article.

“Canelo, if you want my belt, come try and take it! After I beat your brother in your hometown to win my title, you came forward and stated you wanted to fight me to avenge your brother’s loss. Ever since I immediately accepted your challenge, you have disappeared. Now we have a chance to unify the titles and give the fans a fight between two young, undefeated world champions, but it seems as though you are more interested in taking on lesser-quality opposition and avoiding me again.”

Trout was last seen scoring a dominant win over Delvin Rodriguez on June 2 on Showtime.

“I’ve proven to be head and shoulders above everyone they’ve put in front of me. I’m ready for my first defining moment as a fighter on the world stage, so I’m sending this challenge out to another champion who hasn’t yet been in a pick ’em type of fight.”

Surprisingly, Trout says he doesn’t blame Alvarez for his choice of opponents thus far.

“If I could get away with fighting the Kermit Cintrons and Matthew Hattons of the world on HBO, I would too, but it’s time to step up Cinnamon. Time to find out what we’re both truly made of.”

*

Note: The WBC are reported to have rejected this unification.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

