Marco Huck ridicules opponents Vitali Klitschko is considering: ‘They are tomato cans’

2 Jun

Petra Kirsch – Gelsenkirchen

Cruiserweight champion of the WBO; Marco Huck, 27, has issued a riposte to Vitali Klitschko‘s trainer Fritz Sdunek‘s statement that the dominant heavyweight would eat Huck alive. The Käpt’n, who is 0-1-1, 0ko in 2012, believes either Klitschko would experience problems if Marco was served up as an opponent and scoffed at the level of fighter Vitali is currently considering for his next match-up.

Direct link to article.

Sdunek (far left) to feel the full ire of Marco Huck (middle right, with WBO belt) for statements in Russian press

“I respect Mr Sdunek a lot but I am surely no snack for either Klitschko brother,” Huck stated, before claiming that Vitali would only be challenged by himself, and not the shortlist put to the Ukrainian likely headed by contender Manuel Charr. “I guess there was a mistake in the translation. You only have to look at all the names currently discussed as possible opponents for Vitali for September to know that I would be a far better option than any of the guys they are talking about. At least I always come to fight.”

Huck has already fought twice in 2012 and is yet to record a win. In his most recent outing, he was inseparable from 200lb rival Ola Afolabi, a regular sparring partner for both Klitschko siblings; Wladimir and Vitali. And, earlier in the year, Huck lost a disputed decision to Aleksandr Povetkin in what was his first trip in the heavyweight division.

“I know that I didn’t have my best day against Ola Afolabi – but I hung in there and defended my title. A fight against either Klitschko brother would be a completely different story. Afolabi was a mandatory fight, so I did what I had to do. If Fritz Sdunek wants to know what a fight between me and Vitali would look like he should watch the tape of me beating up Alexander Povetkin. That is the kind of Marco Huck Vitali would need to be ready for. And he would look as clumsy as Povetkin who was a huge favourite against me as well.”

Huck continued: “Instead, Vitali prefers to pick some kind of vegetable from the patch which is known as WBC world ratings. Fritz Sdunek was quoted saying I shouldn’t even talk about a Klitschko fight. With all due respect, Mr Sdunek, you mentioned my name and brought it up right now. And I think it’s because you know that none of the tomato cans Vitali is negotiating at the moment brings as much to the table as I do.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Marco Huck ridicules opponents Vitali Klitschko is considering: ‘They are tomato cans’”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. News: Jan – June « On The Beak - November 18, 2012

    […] Marco Huck ridicules opponents Vitali Klitschko is considering: ‘They are tomato cans’ […]

Leave a Reply

