Audley Harrison pursuing David Price and Tyson Fury, called out by Kevin Johnson

30 May

Tommy Barber – London

With ambitions of a return to domestic and continental significance, former super heavyweight gold medalist from the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Audley Harrison, hopes to capitalise on the momentum gathered from his fourth round knockout win over Ali Adams, to bank a shot at the British championship currently held by David Price, or an appearance on Channel 5 television against popular prizefighter Tyson Fury.

Direct link to article.

Looking to salvage his career once more, Harrison hopes to land a fight with either Fury (above) or Price

Harrison stopped Adams in just four rounds at the Brentwood Centre in Essex on May 26. The 40-year-old southpaw, who currently commands a record of 28-5-0, 21ko, approached the fight in a tentative fashion, however, when he turned on the power, he proved too much for his opponent.

Not only did the Londoner secure a triumph on the night, he also exorcised the demons from his sub-par performance in his most recent outing prior – a criticism-laden third round technical knockout defeat to then WBA heavyweight world champion David Haye – in a fight that was deemed so farcical that it has been cited as the catalyst for the demise of pay-per-view in Britain.

“I know after the Haye fight people didn’t expect to see me anywhere near a ring again, but I really enjoyed myself [against Adams]. The place was packed and to have most of the crowd cheering and applauding my finish, made me feel great.

“It took strength of character and belief in myself to not throw in the towel and call it a day [after Haye but] I proved to myself I still want to be a prizefighter. The explosive way I finished off Ali Adams would be a handful for any heavyweight and I’m looking forward to building from this performance and getting myself back into the mix.”

Whilst the heavyweight division is regarded to lack quality internationally, it is one that is competitive in Britain as Haye holds the honour of being a former world champion, Dereck Chisora gave Vitali Klitschko a strong challenge earlier in the year, both Fury and Price are on the cusp of contender status and Richard Towers remains a strong undefeated prospect.

“Tyson Fury and David Price are both doing great, beating who they have in front of them and doing it in exciting fashion,” commented Harrison, who added that he will be lobbying with the British Boxing Board of Control for a title shot against Price.

“If they are not prepared to fight each other, the only other logical fight to be made is against me. If Sky Sports, or Channel 5 accepts anyone else, I think the boxing public and casual sporting fan will be genuinely disappointed. Additionally, I cannot see any other boxer who the Boxing Board can nominate for the British Title other than myself and I’ll be making my case this week.”

Should Harrison fail to secure a potentially lucrative shot at either Price or Fury, then the former Prizefighter champion could take on Kevin Johnson, who himself will compete in the eight-man tournament in June. Johnson called out Harrison, stating he would be delighted to take on the veteran when he claims the trophy that is continuously growing in prestige.

In an open message to Harrison, Johnson (26-1-1, 12ko) said: “If you are looking for a big fight, I’ll stay in the UK after I win the Prizefighter tournament next month and we can get it on. If you can get past me, you might earn that shot at another title fight. You obviously won’t get past me but I’m willing to offer you the opportunity to redeem your career. You can wait on the winner of Haye-Chisora or you can fight a real heavyweight in July or August. Look me up. I’m easy to find.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

