Badou Jack inspired by Mayweather Boxing Gym experience, wants to beat up Alexander Brand

3 May

On The Beak – Admin

Undefeated super middleweight Badou Jack “The Ripper” (10-0-0, 8ko) of Sweden says he’s planning on having a ball when he makes his ShoBox: The New Generation debut on Friday, May 11 against Colombia’s Alexander Brand (17-0-0, 15ko). The pair will meet at the “Shootout at Texas Station” card at the Texas Station Gambling Hall and Hotel in Las Vegas, headlined by Yudel Jhonson versus Willie “The Great” Nelson in a ten round 154lb fight.

Direct link to article.

“He seems like a wild puncher who doesn’t have the best defense,” said Jack of opponent Brand. “I’m gonna beat him up and have fun. I like guys like this that throw wide shots.”

This will be Jack’s first fight at 168 lbs, but the former Olympian says he’ll have no trouble making weight, having done his preparation at Floyd Mayweather’s gym with trainer Eddie Mustafa Muhammad, and sparring with respected contenders like Ishe Smith and J Leon Love.

“To see how Floyd trains motivates me to work even harder. I feel good I like to mix it up, box and pressure my opponent. I can do it all and I can’t wait to show everybody my skills and put on an exciting fight for the crowd and the TV viewers. I’m learning so much from my trainer Eddie Mustafa. I’m definitely in my prime right now. I just need more experience.”

Jack says that while his victory is assured, it is Brand who will decide how things unfold. “It depends. If he’s trying to win, we’ll go home early, but if he runs and just tries to survive, sometimes it can be hard to stop a guy who don’t’ want to fight. I won’t go out there looking for the knockout, but if it comes, it comes.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

