Brian Viloria on completing Omar Nino Romero trilogy in Manila: Fighting in Philippines is a double-edged sword

13 Mar

On The Beak – Admin

Three-time world champion Brian ‘Hawaiian Punch’ Viloria always feels at home fighting in the Philippines. He’s looking forward to avenging his first pro loss and completing the Omar Nino Romero trilogy there March 31, headlining the Island Assault 4: The Battle pay-per-view-event, live from Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City, Metro Manila, Philippines.

Direct link to article.

Viloria praises his Filipino fanbase

“Fighting in the Philippines is like a double-edged sword for me,” said Viloria, a dual citizen of the United States and Philippines. “It can hurt if I try to do too much performing well in front of family, friends and fans. It helps, though, when I need energy and get it from the crowd chanting my name to urge you on. I get that extra push from the crowd. It’s different for every fighter but I love fighting there at home.

“I love the way they treat me. They love their fighters, like Manny [Pacquiao] and have a lot of good fighters there now, like in Mexico. I’ve been greatly received; they’ve accepted me with open arms. I’m Filipino-American but was raised by my grandparents in the Philippines my first six years. I spoke a Filipino dialect before I spoke English. It’s awesome going back there to fight.”

Viloria (30-3-0, 17ko) will defend his WBO flyweight title March 31 against two-time world champion Romero (31-4-0, 13ko) to complete their trilogy. Viloria’s perfect 20-0 record was spoiled by Romero, who took Brian’s WBC light flyweight belt as well in 2006, by way of a 12-round unanimous decision. Three months later, their rematch ended in a draw and was later changed to a ‘no contest’ when Romero failed the post-fight drug test.

Presently rated number two by The Ring Magazine, Viloria was a 2000 US Olympian who lives in Hawaii: “Having this fight on pay per view is a big deal,” Brian explained, “because a lot of my family and friends in Hawaii can’t make it to the Philippines every time I fight there. It’s a long trip and expensive.

“My weight division doesn’t get a lot of television exposure so this helps. I came out of the Olympics and fought on ESPN, which helped get my name out there. I’m excited that people in the US, especially those in Hawaii, can tune in to watch me fight. I’m thankful for that and will put out my best.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Brian Viloria on completing Omar Nino Romero trilogy in Manila: Fighting in Philippines is a double-edged sword”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. News: Jan – June « On The Beak - November 18, 2012

    […] Brian Viloria on completing Omar Nino Romero trilogy in Manila: Fighting in Philippines is a double-… […]

Leave a Reply

