Edwards: I was robbed against Bayaar last time, I want to sit at Christmas with the Lonsdale belt around my waist

8 Dec

On The Beak – Admin

Chris Edwards, 35, the oldest and smallest British champion, makes his second defence as the Flyweight titlist against old foe Shinny Bayaar, 34, at the Peterlee Leisure Centre this Saturday, December 10. Edwards (16-14-3, 4ko) started his career with only one win in his first seven fights. He won the vacant English super flyweight against Dale Robinson and then drew in a British and Commonwealth title fight against the same fighter.

Direct link to article.

Edwards also holds a win over current British and Commonwealth bantamweight ruler Jamie McDonnell in a vacant British super flyweight title clash. After moving down a weight division to flyweight, he he won the British and Commonwealth belts against Wayne Bloy and then defended it with a points win over Usman Ahmed.

Edwards then lost to Bayaar (15-5-2, 4ko) back in 2009 in a controversial split points decision but won it back against Paul Edwards last time out.

Edwards said: “I am determined to correct the decision against Bayaar, I was robbed and I will make him fight at such a pace he want be able to live with me. I want to sit at the dinner table at Christmas with the Lonsdale belt around my waist.”

Bayaar had an indifferent start to his career winning six out of his first eleven fights with one draw. He beat Edwards to claim his first title, then had a controversial draw against Ashley Sexton, where most people at ringside had him clearly winning the fight.

Paul Edwards stopped Bayaar in the first round due to a bad cut and now gets a second chance against the pint size punching machine.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Edwards: I was robbed against Bayaar last time, I want to sit at Christmas with the Lonsdale belt around my waist”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On The Beak boxing news: 2011 « On The Beak - January 10, 2012

    […] Edwards: I was robbed against Bayaar last time, I want to sit at Christmas with the Lonsdale belt ar… […]

Leave a Reply

