Warren on Chisora/Helenius judging: One of the worst decisions I’ve seen; Dereck desperate for do-over

5 Dec

Petra Kirsch – Gelsenkirchen

Former British and Commonwealth heavyweight champion Dereck Chisora attempted to close his year on a high by winning the vacant European (EBU) belt on his trip to the Hartwall Arena on Saturday, December 3, however, he was duped out of a decision by what many observers deemed debatable scoring by the ringside judges. Robert Helenius was crowned the victor in what Chisora’s promoter Frank Warren labeled “one of the worst decisions” he’s seen.

Direct link to article.

Will there be Helenius v Chisora II on neutral turf in 2012? Credit: Pasi

“It was one of the worst decisions I’ve seen in a long time,” Warren is quoted by the BBC to have said after learning about the split decision that went against his star heavyweight.

Despite being burdened by the underdog tag, Chisora (15-2-0, 9ko) acted like a Tasmanian-devil on fight night and brought a war to Robert. According to On The Beak‘s (unofficial) scorecard, Chisora only lost three rounds and should have won a 117-113 fight, yet the three ringside judges saw a 15-113, 115-113, 113-115, split decision to Helenius (17-0-0, 11ko).

Warren continued: “I know that sometimes I have a moan about decisions but I don’t know how Helenius can hold his head up and claim he won the fight when he knows he lost.

“Helenius was supposed to be the next big thing and the man to challenge the Klitschko [brothers] but Dereck totally exposed him and I’m being generous to give Helenius four winning rounds in the fight.”

An official appeal to the EBU could be on the horizon as Warren will be lobbying for a do-over: “I’ll be speaking to the EBU as well as the other organisations about an immediate rematch, which is the only course of redress for this injustice to Dereck. Dereck really proved that he is one of the top heavyweights in the world and he’ll have Helenius’ number when they meet again.”

A rematch was already something Chisora called for during the immediate post-fight press conference. He said: “I would love a rematch, but I want a rematch on a neutral ground, but not here [Helsinki] or in London [Chisora’s hometown] – we find somewhere else, I think me and him will sell out. We have to have a rematch between January or February.

“I did get robbed, most people in here know that I got robbed and even his promoter knows that I got robbed, so now we are going to make noise – I want a rematch. I said it before that this guy cannot beat and he did not beat me. I took all of his shots. In the first round, yes, I was kind of warming up and he did hurt me and I jumped on him. This after that I took control of the fight and I want a rematch.”

Helenius’ promoter Wilfred Sauerland acknowledged his charge’s points win was fortuitous: Wilfried Sauerland: “We are lucky we won the fight,” he said.

Related article: Chisora gives Helenius a beat down but Robert walks away with EBU belt and decision

Related article: Video: Chisora attempts to intimidate Helenius, grabs the Nordic Nightmare’s neck

Related article: Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from a sauna

Related article: Dominant Fury out-bullies Chisora to become British and Commonwealth champ

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Warren on Chisora/Helenius judging: One of the worst decisions I’ve seen; Dereck desperate for do-over”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On The Beak boxing news: 2011 « On The Beak - January 10, 2012

    […] Warren on Chisora/Helenius judging: One of the worst decisions I’ve seen; Dereck desperate for do-… […]

Leave a Reply

