Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from a sauna

29 Nov

Tommy Barber – London

Between getting himself temporarily banished from boxing by the BBBoC for doing a Dracula on Paul Butlin, then attempting to smooch Carl Baker at a weigh-in, British heavyweight and automotive trader Dereck ‘Del Boy’ Chisora built up a reputation for attracting column inches due to his bizarre behaviour. Such deportment, however, disappeared during the promotion for his dust-up with Tyson Fury, but against Robert Helenius, the quotable bad man is back…

Direct link to article.

Can Del Boy upset the odds against the Nordic Nightmare?

Chisora (15-1-0, 9ko), who is sporting a more svelte figure, sent a warning to his rival for the vacant EBU heavyweight championship by claiming he will be bringing the heat to wintry Finland on Saturday, December 3 at the Hartwall Arena in Helsinki.

“I have already stated how ill –advised Helenius has been in picking me [to fight]. It really is the worst time for them to try me,” said Chisora, who bounced back from his decision defeat to Fury by out-pointing Remigijus Ziausys.

“I will be baying for blood as soon as I set foot into that ring come next weekend. My fists will sear and char him like stones off a sauna heater from the word go. By the time I am done with him, he is going to be more tanked-up than one who has been binging on those salmari and jaloviina vodkas they have in Finland.”

Chisora’s performance against Fury was defined by his questionable endurance. As soon as the early rounds were over he was slack-jawed, breathing heavy and became economic with his punches. Critics swiftly pointed to the 261lbs he registered at the pre-fight weigh-in as being too heavy for a boxer with a 6’1 height, however, the Finchley based fighter insists: “I’m back to my best.”

He continued: “Nobody will beat me when I’m at my best. Everything is on the line in this fight so I have to win to continue in my career and get a world title fight. I have no worries at all about fighting Helenius in his back yard and in front of his fans. The more the better, the crowd against me will really spur me on to win. I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia!”

Chisora and Helenius provide the chief support on a heavyweight card. Aleksandr Povetkin defends his ‘Regular’ WBA heavyweight world title against Cedric Boswell in the show’s main event.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

3 Responses to “Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from a sauna”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from a sauna « On The Beak - November 29, 2011

    […] Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals f… […]

  2. Dokumentär om den tragiska fighten mellan Nigel Benn och Gerald McClellan på ITV i december « - November 30, 2011

    […] a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from a sauna” snodd från en artikel på On The […]

  3. Warren on Chisora/Helenius judging: One of the worst decisions I’ve seen; Dereck desperate for do-over « On The Beak - December 5, 2011

    […] Related article: Chisora on Helenius: I’ll be a bigger hit in Finland than Nokia, my fists will be like coals from … […]

Leave a Reply

