Exclusive: Rising Filipino star Laurente targets Senchenko, warm to Mayweather

27 Nov

JM Siasat – Metro Manila

Former OPBF lightweight champion Dennis Laurente (41-4-5, 22ko) arrived in the US fight scene on June 28, 2008 when he fought former NABF champion Steve Quinonez, stopping him in the fourth round. Laurente, a southpaw with a fan-friendly style and hailing from Palompon, Leyte, Philippines, then won all his fights in the States by beating ex world title contender Ben Tackie, as well as prospects Marvin Cordova Jr. and Rashad Holloway. In an On The Beak exclusive, Laurente gave OTB‘s resident Filipino expert JM Siasat his thoughts on his last fight and who he wants to fight next.

Direct link to article.

Dennis Laurente with his dukes up. Credit - JM Siasat/ On The Beak

JM: first of all Dennis congratulations on a dominating victory against Ayi Bruce held on the Pacquiao-Marquez undercard. Your thoughts on the fight?

Dennis: Everything was good. I got him under control early so on the back of my mind I knew I was going to win.

JM: You pressed the fight early, you did a good job mixing it up then eventually stopping him in round seven.

Dennis: I could have stopped him earlier if it wasn’t for the headbutt on the second round. The cut on my eyebrow slowed my momentum so it took me 7 rounds. If it wasn’t for the cut I think I could have stopped him in three or four rounds.

JM: I noticed on the weigh-in that lots of Filipino fans cheered for you. This makes me believe that you are slowly getting the recognition you deserve.

Dennis: Yes. I want to thank the Filipino fans for supporting and watching my fights.

JM: You started fighting in the USA at 140 eventually moving up to 147, you won all your fights in those two divisions but who gave you the toughest fight so far?

Dennis: The Holloway fight was tough and the Cordova fight was close. Other than that the rest were easy.

JM: So the Holloway fight was tough even when you dominated him in the ring and on the scorecards?

Dennis: (laughs).

JM: You weighed 144lbs in your last fight, does this mean you can still make it to 140?

Dennis: The scale we were using at the hotel was wrong. We didn’t know it wasn’t working right so we never thought that ill weigh that light on the official weigh-ins.

JM: But did you have any troubles making the weight?

Dennis: No; not at all.

JM: If I’m to pick the next Filipino world champion right at this very moment, I will pick you. My question is, how ready and how hungry are you to become a world champion?

Dennis: I want it so bad. I’ve been wanting to be a world champion for the longest time now and I just want it so bad. Hopefully I’ll be given the opportunity next year.

JM: Just recently, Andre Berto vacated his IBF world title. Viacheslav Senchenko has the WBA, Manny Pacquiao has the WBO and Floyd Mayweather has the WBC. There are also top names in the welterweight division like Victor Ortiz… who would you like to fight next among them?

Dennis: I want to fight the WBA champ [Senchenko]. If they want me to fight Mayweather then I’ll fight Mayweather. I just want a title shot.

JM: Any words for the people who believe and support you?

Dennis: Thank you so much for the support. I hope they won’t get tired of giving support on my
upcoming fights.

JM: Thank you Dennis.

For comments, suggestions and feedbacks you can email jm1boxing@ymail.com or join our boxing community here.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Exclusive: Rising Filipino star Laurente targets Senchenko, warm to Mayweather”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P4P star Giovani Segura fights in Manila on Dec 11, marking another historic day in Philippine boxing « On The Beak - December 7, 2011

    […] Related article: Exclusive: Rising Filipino star Laurente targets Senchenko, warm to Mayweather […]

Leave a Reply

