Chavez Jr wants to be champion throughout his career, Manfredo Jr will retire if he is defeated

16 Nov

Robert Delgado – Los Angeles

Former super middleweight world title challenger Peter Manfredo Jr has indicated that defeat to WBC middleweight world titlist Julio Cesar Chavez Jr at the Reliant Arena in Houston on Saturday, November 19 would be the catalyst for his retirement from the sport of boxing. In order for his career to continue, he must become the first to defeat Chavez Jr, however, Julio Cesar is motivated to be a champion for as long as he fights.

Direct link to article.

Julio Cesar eager to make first defence. Credit: Chris Farina/Top Rank

“It was always my dream to win a world championship and I accomplished that in my last fight when I beat [Sebastian] Zbik,” said Chavez Jr, who was slated to fight Ronald Hearns in his native Mexico on September 17 but the 25-year-old’s withdrawal from the showdown was alleged to be down to a freak hand injury.

The son of Julio Cesar Chavez Sr – one of Mexico’s finest fighting products – Jr (43-0-1, 30ko) is motivated to enjoy career longevity that is punctuated by possessing the status of a long-reigning major belt holder: “Now I want to be more than just a world champion – I want to be a world champion for the rest of my career.”

In his way is Manfredo Jr, a man whom has challenged at the upper echelons of the divisions he has campaigned in as, in 2007, he attempted to trump then WBO champion at 168lbs; Joe Calzaghe, at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. A questionable stoppage ensured Manfredo Jr lost a third round technical knockout, yet the American with Italian lineage is desperate for his second shot at major world honours to be a successful one… should he not succeed, though, retirement beckons.

“I am very excited about getting the opportunity to fight Chavez,” said Manfredo Jr (37-6-0, 20ko). “He is a world champion and I followed his father growing up, so this fight is very special to me. I have a lot of respect for him as he is the world champion.

“This is a great opportunity for me and also great opportunity for the fans as this is going to be a great fight. I am going to be prepared 100 percent to win and bring this belt home to Rhode Island.

“Winning this fight for me is everything,” he added, before issuing his retirement warning. “If I lose this fight I am done with boxing. I see this as my last opportunity, and I don’t plan on letting it pass me by. I know I am in for a tough fight but it’s a winnable fight and I am very confident I will do just that.”

Chavez Jr, meanwhile, has been working on his defence in order to best guarantee himself victory: “I’m in the best shape ever, I have to work more on my defence… I expect to see changes in my defence in the bout next week, I’ve tried to correct the mistakes I’ve made in the past. I have improved a lot and you all will see that.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

3 Responses to “Chavez Jr wants to be champion throughout his career, Manfredo Jr will retire if he is defeated”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Manfredo fights for WBC middleweight title Saturday – Woonsocket Call | Sports News World - November 16, 2011

    […] WBC (World Boxing Council) championship on Saturday night at Houston's Reliant Arena. …Chavez Jr wants to be champion throughout his career, Manfredo Jr will retire …On The BeakPeter Manfredo Jr. “This is what I've been training for”Doghouse BoxingChavez vs […]

  2. Chavez-Manfredo Will Be Very Competitive, Says Moretti – BoxingScene.com | Sports News World - November 16, 2011

    […] CallJulio Cesar Chavez, Jr. vs. Peter Manfredo, Jr., Saturday November 19thThe Boxing TribuneChavez Jr wants to be champion throughout his career, Manfredo Jr will retire …On The BeakDoghouse Boxing -Bad Left Hookall 10 news […]

  3. Boxing Gyms | Boxing News - November 16, 2011

    […] all-time greats – is the most likely should he come through his fight against Peter …Chavez Jr wants to be champion throughout his career, Manfredo Jr will retire …On The BeakHouston Return Invokes Fond Memories For Arum, ChavezBoxingScene.comPeter Manfredo Jr. […]

Leave a Reply

