Manfredo Jr assesses Chavez Jr: He’s no great like Calzaghe

31 Oct

Ibrahim Harb – Birmingham

Middleweight contender Peter Manfredo Jr challenges WBC champion Julio Cesar Chavez Jr on Saturday, November 19 at the Reliant Arena in Houston, Texas and, speaking ahead of the world title contest, The Pride of Providence foresees a fan-friendly fight… one in which he will be successful in as he does not put the Freddie Roach-trained athlete on the same level as ‘great fighters’ like Joe Calzaghe and Sakio Bika belong in.

Direct link to article.

Chavez Jr (L) defends his green belt against hungry Manfredo Jr. Credit: Chris Farina/Top Rank

“He’s a good fighter, but he’s not a great like a Joe Calzaghe or Sakio Bika; the guys who beat me,” Manfredo Jr (37-6-0, 20ko) said to Eastside Boxing. “He’s definitely beatable in my opinion and I’ll prove it when we fight. He’s tough, as a Mexican, and I think he’ll be able to take a lot of punches.”

Chavez Jr, 25, fights out of the Wildcard Boxing Club in Hollywood, California and has fought twice in 2011 already having outpointed Billy Lyell in January and decisioning erstwhile WBC titlist Sebastian Zbik in a tight fight at the Staples Center in Los Angeles in June.

The defending champion is an in-fighter with sturdy punch resistance but Manfredo Jr explained that one way to gain the win against Chavez Jr (43-0-1, 30ko) would be to take the fight to the outside, box him and make the Mexican miss with his own punches, however, that would not be in keeping with his own fight style. He said: “The smartest thing would be to box this guy and make him miss but I wear my heart on my sleeve, as does he, and when he waves me in I’ll think ‘f*ck it!’ and trade with him.

“The fans will be the real winners in this fight,” promised the 30-year-old. “I’ll leave it all in the ring in this fight. I’m a harder hitter then he is. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no one-punch KO guy, but I hit harder then he does,” said Manfredo Jr before requesting fans to look at their list of shared opponents. “Compare me and him against Matt Vanda. I gave Vanda a beating and he barely got past the guy. [John] Duddy also rocked him, and I’m better than these guys.

“I’ve worked two months for this fight. My weight is good, I feel great. I’m definitely in 12-round shape. At the very least there is one great fight left in me, and this fight will be it.”

The Italian-American then claimed that should he lose, then he will retire: “Lose this fight, and I’ll be hanging up the gloves; I’ll fight no more. I have worked hard for this chance – I don’t have a world famous father behind me, who has allowed me to feed off certain opponents.

“I came up the hard way and I’ve earned my shot,” he concluded.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Manfredo Jr assesses Chavez Jr: He’s no great like Calzaghe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Archive « On The Beak - January 17, 2013

    […] Manfredo Jr assesses Chavez Jr: He’s no great like Calzaghe […]

Leave a Reply

