Donaire and Narvaez weigh-in, Omar convinced he is the best Nonito will have fought

22 Oct

Robert Delgado – Los Angeles

Nonito Donaire, who defends his unified WBC/WBO bantamweight world championship titles on Saturday, October 22 at the Madison Square Garden, New York City, registed an official weight of 116.4lbs compared to challenger Omar Narvaez‘s 117lbs (1lb below the 118lb limit). Donaire’s trainer Robert Garcia refuted allegations his ward over-trained while Narvaez vowed to prove he is the best opponent Nonito has faced.

Direct link to article.

Donaire and Narvaez at weigh-in. Credit: Chris Farina/Top Rank

Donaire and his team have made no secret of their desire to leave the confines of the bantamweight division and compete at super bantamweight and then featherweight as early as next year. The reason is two pronged: Donaire struggles to make weight at 118lbs and there are more lucrative showdowns at 122lbs and 126lbs.

Having previously tipped scales at the 118lb limit in past bantamweight fights it was perhaps a bit surprising that the Filipino Flash (26-1-0, 18ko) had come in 1.6lb lighter: “It’s not because he’s over-trained or anything, “Garcia said, according to Ringtv.com.

“We weighed him before we came here and he was a pound and a half over. And he started shadowboxing and sweating, and he sweated a little more than he was supposed to.” He added: “[Nonito was] about a pound and a half over an hour before the weigh-in.”

Narvaez (35-0-2, 19ko) commented on his experience and his familiarity with Donaire as two pivotal factors in the fight: “I trust very much in my experience and in my fitness for this fight. I’m a very good boxer. I know Nonito from a long time ago when he was a flyweight. I know his skills well. I don’t think that Donaire has ever fought against a person with my style and my skill level.”

When probed as to whether boxing in New York for the first time will have any negative impact on his performance, El Huracan seemed unfazed: “I’ve fought in a lot of other countries. France, Italy and Spain. As an amateur, I fought all over the world. I had 103 fights as an amateur. I went to the Olympics. This is nothing. I think that there are a lot of Latino people here in New York and I think that there will be a lot of Latino fans supporting me.”

Donaire has slaughtered a plethora of top level fighters in the past few years including stoppages over traditionally durable Vic Darchinyan and Fernando Montiel. The 28-year-old is on a commendable run having knocked out nine of his past ten opponents, however, Narvaez – not considered a big hitter – has explained that he will make sure Donaire “knows my power in the ring.”

He concluded: “I have really prepared myself well for this fight [and] I’m [not concerned with Nonito’s power] no. I’m trusting in my preparation.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

One Response to “Donaire and Narvaez weigh-in, Omar convinced he is the best Nonito will have fought”

  1. Anonymous October 27, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    “Best” in what regard? Survival?

Leave a Reply

