Froch credits Polish lineage for boxing attributes, reveals idolatry for Prince Naseem

20 Oct

Ibrahim Harb – Birmingham

Polish grit that has been passed down through the Froch family is one of the key factors in what makes gladiatorial prizefighter Carl such a resilient champion. The WBC super middleweight world titlist competes in the final of the Super Six World Boxing Classic on Saturday, December 17 in Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall as he attempts to unify his belt with American boxer Andre Ward‘s WBA crown in what promises to be one of the battles of the year.

Direct link to article.

Froch regards chin to be one of his best assets. Credit: Chamber of Fear, Source - Flickr

“My grandfather fought for his country, survived the horrors of the [Second World] War and then suffered seriously hard times,” said Froch (28-1-0, 20ko) to the Daily Mail.

Known for his ability to dig deep whilst fighting in the trenches, British fighter Carl credits his mixed ancestry for what has made him a two-time world champion: “That Polish hardness, the toughness, that fight-to-the-death warrior mentality is with me in the ring. It’s my origin. It’s my heritage. My grandfather’s starvation and deprivation are part of my metabolism and that makes it easy for me to make the weight as a boxer. I wasn’t born to excess.”

This, coupled with his fascination for the unorthodox boxing style of Prince Naseem Hamed shaped Froch’s own fight game: “I used to love watching him,” reflected Froch of the former featherweight king, a devastating knockout puncher who threw his shots from awkward angles.

Hamed participated in a number of thrilling contests that included: an eighth round technical knockout of fellow Briton, Steve Robinson; a fourth round stoppage of Kevin Kelley in Madison Square Garden, New York City; and a decisioning of Wayne McCullough. In his penultimate battle, against Mexican great Marco Antonio Barrera, Hamed became unstuck for the first and only time when he was out-hustled and convincingly beaten in Las Vegas ten years ago.

Froch continued: “Even though I was out of the game in 2001, I spent almost every penny I had on going to Las Vegas to watch him fight Barrera. Barrera was brilliant that night, world class. But even though Naz lost he went down fighting and I still loved him.

“I wanted to pick up where he was leaving off and there’s still a bit of him in me. I mimicked the way he fought,” said Froch. “[Trainer] Rob McCracken is not always happy that I carry my hands low like that, but when I throw my punches from down there, especially the jab, they often don’t see them coming.”

He added: “I’m lucky that I’ve got a great chin,” before commenting on his December test against Ward (24-0-0, 13ko) in a fight that has two alphabet championship titles, The Ring magazine belt, the Super Six trophy and numerous lucrative contests for the future, all on the line. “Ward’s not a great puncher and he won’t be able to keep me off him.”

Froch, at 34-years-old, is countryman David Haye’s senior by three years. Haye, just last week, announced his retirement from the sport, however, the Nottingham native – who is upping sticks to fight out of US where he is beginning to carve a considerable name for himself – has no intention of hanging up his own gloves just yet: “I feel 20; I’ve never been in better shape [and] I feel like I could carry on for ever.

“I know one day my body will tell me it’s time to quit,” said Carl in a concluding comment. “But not for a while yet.”

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

2 Responses to “Froch credits Polish lineage for boxing attributes, reveals idolatry for Prince Naseem”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Froch credits Polish lineage for boxing attributes, reveals idolatry for … – On The Beak - October 20, 2011

    […] Froch credits Polish lineage for boxing attributes, reveals idolatry for …On The BeakThis, coupled with his fascination for the unorthodox boxing style of Prince Naseem Hamed shaped Froch's own fight game: “I used to love watching him,” reflected Froch of the former featherweight king, a devastating knockout puncher who threw his shots …and more » […]

  2. Froch to drag Ward into trenches, Bute doesn’t deserve respect, talks Cleverly « On The Beak - November 17, 2011

    […] Related article: Froch credits Polish lineage for boxing attributes, reveals idolatry for Prince Naseem […]

Leave a Reply

