‘Blacklisted’ Mundine wants Trout but past comments on September 11 terror attacks hinder US fights

20 Oct

Petra Kirsch – Gelsenkirchen

Australian super welterweight Anthony Mundine convincingly decisioned Rigoberto Alvarez on Wednesday, October 19 at the Entertainment Centre in Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia and, in so doing, maneuvered himself into a mandatory challenger position for Austin Trout’s full version of the WBA championship. However, following the fight’s conclusion, Mundine implied that comments he made ten years ago may prove an American bout problematic to book.

Direct link to article.

”I am back,” Mundine expressed as reported by the Brisbane Times after his distance triumph over his opponent, a tough Mexican. ”I am the interim champion, I want to fight the world champion and let’s see who is the real champion. That was a great performance, one of my best. I didn’t have my best preparation but I’ve been around the block, I’m experienced so I was able to do something a lot of people didn’t think I could.”

Mundine (43-4-0, 25ko) was able to keep an aggressive Alvarez away from him by extending his orthodox jab and using foot skills to prove an elusive target. Midway through the bout, the Sydney-born 36-year-old opened up a cut and sought to aggravate the laceration with his lead shots. Aside from momentary perturbation in round nine when Mundine was clocked with a heavy punch, it was Alvarez who came off second best for the majority of the contest and The Man was awarded a just points verdict (117-111, 117-111, 115-113).

The win sets Mundine up for a collision course with Trout, something he welcomes: “Bring on that sucker. He was talking crap about me, saying this, saying that … so bring it on Austin. Get on to the American people,” Mundine – an Islam convert – added, noting that his controversial comments during the aftermath of the September 11 terror attacks in the US are perhaps holding him back.

“They’re blacklisting me. I’m telling you they’re blacklisting me because of the September 11 [comment]. I know it. I can feel it in my heart. They don’t want me to go over there and kick their butts and make money. I don’t want their money, I just want to fight the best. Just line them up. I am ready to take on all comers in the super welterweight division. I believe I am the best. I’m charismatic, I’m flashy, I’m pretty, I’m a former three-time world champion… You tell me why they don’t want me.

“There’s only one reason why and you all know what it is,” concluded Mundine.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

