Mares wants to clear lowblow controversy by putting the KO in Agbeko

18 Oct

Robert Delgado – Los Angeles

On Saturday, December 10 at the Honda Center in Anaheim, California, prizefighting Mexican Abner Mares aims to eradicate any doubt over whom the better fighter is between himself and former world champion Joseph Agbeko. The two 118lb campaigners return to the ring for a second time following a disputed majority decision verdict that favoured Mares in their first bout in August; the final of the Showtime organised four-man bantamweight competition.

Direct link to article.

Credit: Dewalt May, Source - Flickr

“I’m really happy and ready to fight,” said Mares (pictured left). “Right after the first fight I was asked if I had a problem with a rematch – I said ‘no.’ I want to fight him again because he deserves it.”

Mares (22-0-1, 13ko) prevailed by way of a points triumph, however, referee Russell Mora attracted criticism for his inability to control the fight… one that contained numerous lowblow shots from Abner yet was not punished appropriately.

“He’s a great champion,” claimed Mares, of his opposite number Agbeko; an on-again, off-again of the IBF belt since 2007. “If this is what the people want we’ll give it to them. I’m going to prove why I’m the champion come December 3.

“I’m going to go for a knockout,” he exclaimed. “Last time I prepared for 12 rounds, but this time I have something to prove. I want to prove that I am the champion. I want to knock him out.

Joseph Agbeko (28-3-0, 22ko) was not upset at having to take repeated shots below the belt-line and instead focused on the battle ahead. He said: “I am not looking for the knockout, I’m looking forward to a war.

“There will be no more low blows this time because the world is watching. I will prove to the world that I deserved to win the last fight and I will be victorious on December 3. Do I still have respect for Abner Mares? Yes. At the end of the day we are both warriors and we do our job.

“I didn’t want to retaliate with low blows. After every round I came back to my corner and they told me to keep going after him and protect myself. They just kept telling me to do what we trained to do and not to change.”

Meanwhile, Alan Hopper, VP for Public Relations for Don King Productions, echoed the declarations of their ward Agbeko: “Abner Mares has a problem… He won the two biggest fights of his career with the use of low blows. The entire world and a new referee will be watching closely on December 3.”

The main event fight between Mares and Agbeko is supported by a further high-profile bantamweight bout as Anselmo Moreno defends his super WBA bantamweight world championship against popular pressure fighter Vic Darchinyan.

Tickets went on sale today, Tuesday, can be purchased at Ticketmaster or at the Honda Center’s box office and are priced between $25 and $150.

For all of boxing’s biggest stories click here

onthebeak@gmail.com

Follow us on TWITTER

Follow us on FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

